After Baptism, the Sacrament of Reconciliation is the “second plank” we can count on when we get shipwrecked by sin (CCC 1446). Through it, we are reconciled to God the Father through the Cross and Resurrection of Christ, and by the power of the Holy Spirit. Scripture recounts how Christ handed this ministry to his Church:

He (Jesus) breathed on them (the apostles) and said to them, “Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven them; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained.” — Jn 20:22-23

The Sacrament of Reconciliation proceeds in three parts.

  • Confession. You give an account of your sins. For a fruitful Confession, you can prepare by making an Examination of Conscience, reflecting on what sins you have committed and why.
  • Absolution. Through the ministry of the Church, the confessor (priest) absolves you of your sins.
  • Penance. You complete some form of prayer or sacrifice, as prescribed by the confessor. This helps to reform and reorient your soul.

There is no fear in Confession, for it is an encounter with God’s mercy. Bare your wounds to him, and he will pour the balm of his love upon you.

Want to receive the Sacrament of Reconciliation (Confession)?

  • • You have been baptised or received into the Catholic Church.
  • • You are sorry for your sins.
  • • Parishes generally offer Reconciliation 15-30 minutes before Mass.
  • • Contact your parish for its Reconciliation schedule, or to book an appointment with a priest.
New Here? New Here?
Vocation Office Vocation Office
Golden Jubilee Golden Jubilee
© 2013 The Catholic Diocese of Jamshedpur all right reserved.